Illuminating Chakra-Inspired Poetry by Maria Kitsios

According to ancient Indian writings contained in the Vedas, our bodies are made up of seven key energy centers known as chakras. Each chakra is associated with a particular color, element, sound, major organ, mantra, and location within the body.

The Vedas theorizes that each of the seven chakras are situated along the spine, from the pelvis to the top of the head as shown in the image below:

Author and licensed massage therapist (LCT) Maria Kitsios is currently working on a poetry series inspired by the seven chakras. Thus far, she has completed four titles based on the crown, third eye, throat, and heart chakras.

If you’re interested in spirituality, ancient healing methods, mindfulness, or self-reflection, the following books might be the perfect addition to your personal library.

The Journey to Source

Kitsios’ debut poetry book is focused on the crown chakra, which is associated with thought and consciousness. The crown chakra involves the central nervous system and cerebral cortex at the top of the head to aid in understanding.

When this chakra is in balance, associations include faith, selflessness, connection, and courage. If the crown chakra is out of balance, signs include depression, apathy, confusion, insomnia, and boredom.

Unravel the Veil

The second book in the chakra poetry series is about the third eye. This chakra involves the pineal gland, eyes, nose, ears, and nervous system, which all function together to give people intuition and inner vision. Balance in the third eye equates to high emotional intelligence, truthfulness, and openness to new ideas.

The Vessel of Truth

The throat chakra is the main inspiration for this book. Located in the neck, associated organs include the throat, vocal cords, jaw, shoulders, and arms. A balanced throat chakra will give people the ability to speak honestly, express themselves to others, communicate effectively, and practice patience. Signs of dysfunction in the throat chakra may include a sore throat, a stiff neck, shyness, or feeling withdrawn.

The Heart’s Journey

The fourth installment in this series is all about the heart chakra, which is located in the center of the chest. It involves important organs including the heart, lungs, diaphragm, pericardium, and ribs.

When the heart chakra is in balance, signs include feelings of compassion, love, healing, and connection to others. A dysfunctional heart chakra might lead to isolation, grief, loneliness, lack of self-esteem, or resentment.