5 Book Series for 5th Graders

Looking for new books for your fifth grader? The best way to foster their love of reading is to find them engaging,  compelling books.  One great place to start is by looking for series with relatable characters and action-packed sequences. Check out these 5 outstanding book series that your 5th grader is sure to enjoy over and over again:

Harry Potter

You simply can’t go wrong with J.K. Rowling’s iconic series starring the famous “Boy Who Lived” and his magical wizarding adventures at Hogwarts. The 7-book series begins with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, in which an 11-year-old Harry Potter learns that he’s a wizard and that he has a well-known legacy in the wizarding world. When he begins attending school at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, readers will be totally absorbed in a spell-binding ride full of suspense, humor, and mystery.

Wings of Fire

This fiery fantasy series by Tui T. Sutherland starts with The Dragonet Prophecy, which is where the reader is introduced to a thrilling battle among 7 dragon tribes that has been raging on for centuries. In this debut novel, a secret movement known as the Talons of Peace has formed an alliance to bring forth an ancient prophecy that should finally end the deadly war. 5 young dragonets were raised in secret in order to sacrifice themselves to end the battle…but not every dragon wants to face their destiny. What happens when the ones who were supposed to fight for peace don’t do as they’re told?

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Rick Riordan’s series kicks off with The Lightning Thief and introduces us to our protagonist, Percy Jackson. In a whirlwind adventure, 12-year-old Percy is sent to Camp Half-Blood, where he learns that his mysterious abilities have a supernatural explanation; Percy is a demi-god, and a son of the powerful god, Poseidon. His worries about pre-algebra quickly dissipate in this epic novel that your kid could devour in a single sitting!

Chronicles of Narnia

The fantastic introduction to the land of Narnia begins with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. This book series has been loved by readers for over 50 years due to its unforgettable characters, powerful messages, magical experiences, and epic fights between good and evil. Join 4 curious children as they journey into the mystical kingdom hidden within an ordinary wardrobe and allow your child’s imagination to run wild.

Maximum Ride

In a nightmarish lab, scientists combined avian and human DNA to create mutant hybrids from infancy. Maximum Ride and her little “flock” of avian-human hybrids look like ordinary kids…until they unfurl their wings and take to the skies. In James Patterson’s debut novel of this series, The Angel Experiment, the youngest member of the flock is kidnapped by other mutants created by the sadistic scientists. The others must race to Death Valley, California, to save Angel and fight for their own freedom once again.

For more suggestions, check out the collection of children’s books on Kindle by clicking here!


Leave a Reply